Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA Announces New Board Leadership, Members

Schilsky Named to Chair Foundation; Krofah, Morrow, and Moscicki Join Board of Directors

(February 7, 2023) The Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA (FDA Foundation) has announced new officers and members of its Board of Directors. 

Richard L. Schilsky, MD, FACP, FSCT, FASCO, has been elected to a three-year term as Chair of the FDA Foundation Board of Directors. Georges C. Benjamin, MD, assumes the role of Vice Chair. Allan Coukell, BScPharm, continues his service as Secretary/Treasurer. 

 Three new members have been appointed to the FDA Foundation Board for a four-year term: 

  • Esther Krofah, MS; Milken Institute
  • Phuong Khanh (PK) Morrow, MD; CRISPR Therapeutics
  • Richard A. Moscicki, MD; Moscicki Consulting, LLC 

Esther Krofah, MS, is the executive vice president of health and is on the leadership teams for FasterCures and the Center for Public Health at the Milken Institute. She has deep experience in the government, nonprofit, and for-profit sectors, where she has led efforts to bring together diverse stakeholder groups to solve critical issues and achieve shared goals that improve the lives of patients. Most recently, Krofah was the director of public policy leading GlaxoSmithKline's engagement with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and relevant Executive Branch agencies on broad healthcare policy issues, including leadership in improving vaccinations and care for people living with HIV. 

Phuong Khanh (PK) Morrow, MD, is the chief medical officer at CRISPR Therapeutics, where she brings more than a decade of leadership experience in global drug development. Prior to joining CRISPR, Dr. Morrow served as vice president and global therapeutic area head of Hematology, GI Oncology, GU Oncology, and Bone at Amgen, where she was responsible for guiding and accelerating late development activities addressing numerous marketed hematology programs and guiding the late development of programs that focus upon FLT3 and MCL-1. In addition, she was appointed by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration to be the industry representative to the Oncology Drug Advisory Committee for a four-year term, ending in 2019. Prior, Dr. Morrow was assistant professor, Department of Breast Medical Oncology at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, where she co-led the development of the first multidisciplinary breast cancer survivorship clinic at MD Anderson and served as the principal investigator of multiple drug studies.

Richard A. Moscicki, MD, recently retired from his role as executive vice president of science and regulatory advocacy and the chief medical officer at the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA).  Dr. Moscicki came to PhRMA in 2017 after serving as the deputy center director for science operations for the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER) since 2013.  While at FDA, Dr. Moscicki brought executive direction of Center operations and leadership in overseeing the development, implementation, and direction of CDER’s programs. Previous positions include serving as chief medical officer at Genzyme Corporation from 1992 to 2011 where he was responsible for worldwide global regulatory and pharmacovigilance matters, as well as all aspects of clinical research and medical affairs for the company.  He served as a senior vice president and head of clinical development at Sanofi-Genzyme from 2011-2013.

“We are pleased to welcome our newest members to the Board of Directors,” said Dr. Schilsky. “We look forward to their engagement as we take on new projects in evidence generation, diversity in clinical research and health care, and improving public understanding of FDA-regulated products.” 

Krofah, Morrow, and Moscicki join the FDA Foundation Board comprised of 17 exceptional leaders from academia, patient and consumer advocacy, FDA-regulated industry, health care, and other disciplines. A complete list of Board members and their bios is available here

The FDA Foundation Board also expressed appreciation to three departing Board leaders: founding Board member Helen Darling, MA; long-time Board member Jonathan Leff, MBA; and founding Board member and outgoing Board Chair Ellen V. Sigal, PhD. “Their leadership and counsel were instrumental in building and growing the Foundation and its impact,” remarked Phil Febbo, MD, Chair of the Foundation’s Governance Committee. “We are grateful for their outstanding guidance and dedication.” 

About the Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA

The Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA (FDA Foundation) is an independent 501(c)(3) created by Congress to advance regulatory science to help the U.S. Food and Drug Administration accomplish its mission. The FDA Foundation works to improve health and safety through stakeholder engagement and public-private partnerships that facilitate innovation, foster the use of real-world evidence, and identify modern tools and policies to keep pace with today’s rapidly evolving science.

Media Contacts:

Lea Ann Browning-McNee
301-509-1846 (cell)